Recipe Round-Up: Herb & Citrus Oven Roasted Chicken

Herb and Citrus Oven Roasted ChickenJuicing has become rather trendy this past year. As I’ve watched friend after friend do this cleanse, I assumed it was just a matter of time before I too jumped on the bandwagon. Now I’m not so sure. As you know, post wisdom teeth removal, the patient is on a strict liquid and soft food diet. Because of my slight complication, I basically ate nothing but ice cream, apple sauce, mashed bananas, Greek yogurt, and the occasional mashed potatoes for a solid week and I have never been more miserable. This led me to conclude that unless it’s medically mandated, I just don’t think I can forgo actual food for a smoothie for longer than one day. But as I suffered through my (temporary) dietary restriction, I could not stop thinking about a delicious chicken recipe I made a couple weeks earlier. The recipe came from Georgia of The Comfort of Cooking – a great food blog with easy recipes, clear instructions, and mouthwatering pictures. This recipe was not only easy to follow, but it was probably one of the most delicious things I have ever made, AND I already had most of the ingredients. As I was cooking for one, I halved the recipe, but it still turned out wonderfully!Herb and Citrus Oven Roasted Chicken Herb and Citrus Oven Roasted Chicken

Ingredients (6 servings)

1/4 cup olive oil
4 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons sugar
2 whole lemons, one juiced and one sliced
2 whole oranges, one juiced and one sliced
1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste
10-12 pieces (about 4 1/2 lbs.) bone-in chicken parts (thighs and legs are best), pat dry
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon dried thyme, or fresh chopped
1 tablespoon dried rosemary, or fresh chopped
Chopped fresh herbs (rosemary, thyme, parsley), for garnish, optional

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, garlic, sugar, lemon juice, orange juice, Italian seasoning, paprika, onion powder, red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper.

Place Chicken in a 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Place parts skin side up and spread them out evenly in the pan. Pour olive oil mixture all over chicken, turning pieces to coat all sides. (It’s even better if you marinate the chicken in the olive oil mixture for a couple hours or overnight, but this is not required.)

Arrange slices of lemon, orange, and onion around and under the chicken; then sprinkle all over generously with thyme, rosemary, salt, and pepper.

Bake uncovered for about 1 hour, or until the chicken is cooked and juices run clear. Garnish with additional chopped fresh herbs if desired.

Leave a Reply

