Recipe Round-Up: Simple Fried Rice

Easy Fried Rice Recipe

The day I realized cooking fried rice was a simple task was arguable one of the better days of my life. Like most people, I love eating out, and I always justify it by telling myself that I can’t make the complex dishes found in my favorite restaurants. While for the most part that’s very true, there is at least one exception to this -friend rice. This recipe is super easy to follow and requires very little ingredients. I opted not to include meat in the dish, but adding it does not change the recipe; simply prepare the meat however you’d like it, and add it when mixing in the rice with the rest of the ingredients. This was courtesy of Kristin of Iowa Girl Eats, definitely check out her blog for more finger-licking good eats!

Ingredients: (2-3 servings)
1.5 cups rice (I used long grain brown rice)
1/2 cup frozen carrots and peas
2 green onions & 1/4 cup onion chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 egg
2 1/2 teaspoons sesame oil
2 Tablespoons soy sauce

Directions:

Whisk egg with 1 teaspoon sesame oil in a small dish then set aside.

Heat 1 teaspoon sesame oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat, and add frozen mixed vegetables and green onions. Stir fry until tender, about 2 minutes, then add onion and garlic and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute. Push vegetables to the side of the skillet then add egg and sesame oil mixture into the center and scramble.

Add rice, and soy sauce to skillet then toss well to combine.

iPhone 023 iPhone 024  iPhone 027

4 comments
  1. Looks delicious! I think the same way about never being able to cook complex dishes. I should try!

    • Yeah you definitely should; now I actually want to challenge myself and see what else I can make! I’ll definitely keep posting the recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

