Simple (and Delicious) Banana Bread

iPhone 038 iPhone 037iPhone 035

Let me start off by saying, I am not a baker in any sense of the word. Even with straight from the box cookies or brownies, I’ve always just felt like baking was something that required a domesticity that I didn’t have. But, since graduating college, and living on my own (not including my 4 roommates) I’ve been trying to slowly branch out into the world of baking. Enter this awesome and super simple banana bread recipe from In Mama Steph’s Kitchen. Seriously those of you who try this out will not be disappointed, unless my roommates (and their respective significant others), my boss, coworker, and I all have horrible taste.

Ingredients

½ cup butter (usually half a stick), at room temperature, plus more for the pan

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 ½ cups of plain flour (I used white)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3 very ripe bananas, 1 cup mashed

½ cup plain Greek yogurt

1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter a pan, and set aside. In an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, and beat to incorporate.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to the butter mixture, and mix until combined. Add bananas, sour cream, and vanilla; mix to combine. (I also added a tsp of cinnamon for an extra flavor.) Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake for 1 hour 10 minutes. Let rest in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack to cool.
  4. Enjoy!

I topped mine with Nutella, because really what doesn’t taste better with Nutella, and it was truly magical.

iPhone 031 iPhone 029

Leave a Reply

