Recipe Round-Up: Baked Eggplant with Tomato & Feta Cheese

 iPhone 020

 

I have never really been one for eggplant. Like. At. All. However, my roommates and I signed up to join a CSA with a local farmer –who appropriately goes by Farmer Mike –and as a result I’ve been forced to cook with vegetables that I would never pick out of my own accord while grocery shopping. And I have to say, so far, it’s been pretty great. Farmer Mike has been providing us with plenty of eggplant lately, and I thought it was time that I actually use the vegetable in a meal. So I opened up my handy dandy cookbook, aka Pinterest, and searched eggplant recipes until I landed on this one. It was simple, the pictures looked divine, and best of all, the ingredient list (and cooking time) was short. And let me tell you guys, it was absolutely amazing. My only regret is that I only made enough for one meal!

Recipe adapted from Maza

Ingredients (makes 6 servings, so I cut the recipe in half)

1 large eggplant
3 large tomatoes, to match the diameter of the eggplant
Crumbled feta
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
Juice of half lemon
2 garlic cloves
½ extra-virgin olive oil
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Cut of the eggplant crosswise into ½ inch thick rounds. Lightly season them with salt and leave them for 30 minutes on a side to let water to come out of the eggplant.
  2. Once ready drizzle some olive oil on top of each slice and grill them on a lightly oiled grill rack for 2 -3 minutes each side. (I broiled mine in my oven for  4-5 minutes)
  3. Blend the basil leaves with 4 tablespoons olive oil, 2 garlic cloves, lemon juice and 1 teaspoon salt in an immersion blender until smooth.
  4. Cut the tomatoes crosswise to ¼ inch thick rounds.
  5. Lightly oil the baking pan. Arrange 4 eggplant rounds side by side. Spread ½ tablespoon of the basil-garlic mixture on top of each one, then generously sprinkle feta crumbs. Top each with tomato rings. Add another layer of eggplant, basil spread, feta and tomato rounds and top with the rest of the crumbled feta. (I also did not double up on eggplant and tomatoes).
  6. Preheat the oven to 400F.
  7. Drizzle some olive oil on top of each stack and bake for 15 minutes.

iPhone 010

iPhone 012

iPhone 013

iPhone 017

iPhone 019

 

2 comments
    • Thank you, it was seriously delicious and so simple!

      Stessy

Leave a Reply

